GENERAL RULES FOR THE EMERGENCY SALE OF ROADSIDE HAY PERMITS ON NEBRASKA HIGHWAY RIGHTS-OF-WAY June 19. 2006

- 1. Permits will be available beginning at 8:00am, Tuesday, June 20, 2006, at specific Nebraska Department of Roads (NDOR) offices.
 - NDOR Hay Permit Sales Office List will be available here after 3:30 pm Monday, June 19th.
 - Beginning June 20, 2006, roadside hay will be available for sale in counties west of US Highway 281, in Nebraska.
 - Landowners with property adjacent to available highway rights-of-way may purchase hay permits five working days in advance of the general public.
 - Where a county is split by the east/west designation, the entire county will be included in the first round on June 20.
 - Sales to the general public for counties west of US 281 will begin Tuesday, June 27.
 - Beginning Monday, June 26, 2006, roadside hay will be available for sale in counties east of US Highway 281 in Nebraska.
 - Landowners with property adjacent to available highway rights-of-way may purchase hay permits five working days in advance of the general public.
 - Sales to the general public for counties east of US 281 will begin Monday, July 3, 2006.
 - Permits are available at specific Nebraska Department of Roads (NDOR) offices. See Current Hay Permit Sales Office List.
- 2. Permits will be available to walk-in customers only. No telephone sales allowed.
- 3. The area to be mowed is from 15 feet off the surfacing to the outer right-of-way line on one or both sides of the road.
- 4. One permit is allowed per farm unit. Hay is for private use only.
- 5. An individual may purchase from one to five miles of roadside right-of-way, one or both sides. For two-lane highways, the charge per mile per side is \$5.00. For expressways, the charge per mile per side is \$10.00. For interstate highways, the charge per mile per side is \$20.00.
- 6. Permits for roadside hay donated to the Orphan Grain Train program are exempt from fees.
- 7. For interstate and expressways, no mowing is allowed in medians and interchange quadrants.
- 8. Rules for roadside haying are stated on the permit form and must be followed for the hay permit to be valid. Failure to do so may preclude an applicant from acquiring a license in future years. Any exception to the rules must be approved by the local NDOR District Engineer and notated on the permit. It is the responsibility of the permit applicant to read and understand the restrictions being placed upon the licensee.
- 9. NDOR District personnel should flag areas that have been sprayed with chemicals and no mowing will be allowed in these areas.
- 10. While operating on highway rights-of-way, vehicles must display flashing yellow lights and slow-moving vehicles must display the slow-moving vehicle placard.

- 11. All traffic rules must be complied with in conjunction with the haying operation. All haying operations shall be confined to the roadside area.
- 12. Areas under construction are exempt from hay permitting. Exceptions will be determined by the NDOR District Engineer.
- 13. Mowing can begin immediately. Hay must be baled and picked up no later than 20 days after it is cut or it becomes the property of the Nebraska Department of Roads.
- 14. The NDOR District Engineer reserves the right to restrict or limit mowing in any area deemed unfit. During the 2006 drought hay harvest, mowing frequencies as indicated in the NDOR Highway Mowing Guidelines will be irrelevant.
- 15. All questions regarding individual permits should be directed to the District Engineer or his/her designee.

NDOR DROUGHT EMERGENCY HAY PERMIT SALES OFFICES June 20, 2006 – 9 am

Scotts Bluff, Northern Banner, Southern Box Butte, Morrill, Southern Sioux, Garden Counties	Nebraska Dept. of Roads 514 Main Street, Bridgeport, NE
Dawes, Northern Sioux, Northern Box Butte, Sheridan Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 700 Maple St Chadron, NE 69337
Cheyenne, Southern Banner, Deuel, Kimball Counties	Nebraska Dept. of Roads West Hwy 30 Sidney, NE 69162
Custer County	Nebraska Dept. of Roads 515 East S "E" Street, Broken Bow, NE
Blaine, Northern Arthur, Logan, McPherson, Grant, Hooker, Thomas Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads, North Side of East N-2 Mullen, NE 69152
Keith, Southern Arthur Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 307 East D Street South Ogallala, NE
Dawson County	Nebraska Department of Roads Jct. S. Hwy. 283 and I-80 Lexington, NE
Lincoln County	Nebraska Department of Roads 2400 West 14th Street North Platte, NE
Perkins, Chase, Hayes, Dundy, Hitchcock Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 1/4 Mile South of the Jct. Hwy. 6 and S15A Imperial, NE 69033
Frontier, Gosper, Red Willow, Furnas Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads East Highway 6 & 34 McCook, NE
Phelps, Franklin, Harlan, Kearney Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 1013 West 4th Avenue Holdrege, NE
Buffalo County	Nebraska Department of Roads 211 North Tilden Grand Island, NE 68802
Garfield, Loup, Holt, Boyd, Wheeler Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 404 West Douglas St O'Neill, NE 68763
Sherman , Valley, Greeley, Nance, Howard Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads North Side of Nebraska Hwy. 11 East Edge of Ord, Ord, NE 68862
Adams, Webster, Nuckolls, Clay Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 115 S. Heartland Avenue Hastings, NE 68901

Cherry County	Nebraska Department of Roads 602 East 1st Street Valentine, NE 69201
Keya Paha, Brown, Rock Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads East Highway 20 736 East 4th Street Ainsworth, NE
Hall, Hamilton, Polk, Merrick Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 211 North Tilden Grand Island, NE 68802
York, Fillmore, Thayer Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 121 W. South 21st Street York, NE 68467
Gage, Jefferson, Saline, Seward (I-80 south), Lancaster (Lincoln south, Lincoln west) Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 117 North Hill Street Beatrice, NE 68310
Lancaster (north & east), Seward-north, Saunders, Butler, Western Cass, Western Otoe Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 302 Superior Street Lincoln, NE 68521
Southeastern Otoe, Johnson, Richardson, Nemaha & Pawnee Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 2127 South J Street Auburn, NE 68305
Douglas County	Nebraska Department of Roads 4425 South 108th Street Omaha, NE 68145
Sarpy County, Eastern Cass County	Nebraska Department of Roads 221 North State Street Elkhorn, NE 68022
Dodge, Washington Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 2550 West 23rd Fremont, NE 68025
Platte, Colfax, Boone Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 3303 12th Street Columbus, NE 68602
Pierce, Madison, Cuming, Stanton County	Nebraska Department of Roads 408 North 13th St Norfolk, NE 68702
Wayne, Dixon, Cedar Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 1300 East 7th St Wayne, NE 68787
Antelope, Knox Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 910 East Hwy. 275 Neligh, NE 68756
Dakota, Thurston, Burt Counties	Nebraska Department of Roads 500 West 9th St South Sioux City, NE 68776