Official State of Nebraska Web Site


Naming a Highway



Regular Acrobat Reader Download
Help with PDF's for those with visual disabilities


Highway Commission
Text Only


Agenda - (available the week prior to meeting)
Executive Secretary
NE Surface Transportation Program 2006-2011 and Beyond
Commission Yearly Meetings Schedule
State of NE Public Meeting Calendar

Highway Commission Structure

The Nebraska Highway Commission is composed of eight members, each of whom represents one of the eight field districts. They are appointed by the Governor for six-year terms, with approval of the Legislature. The Commission, which serves in an advisory capacity, normally holds meetings the fourth Friday of each month (generally at Central Headquarters in Lincoln). At these meetings, and various other hearings on proposed projects, the Commission serves as a channel for citizens to voice their opinions concerning the state highway system.

Click within a bordered area to find the Commissioner for that district

district map - clickable to find commissioner - also listed elsewhere in text

District 1

Duane Acklie

Hwy Commissioner
PO Box 81228
Lincoln NE 68501

District 2

Richard S. Reiser
(402) 894-3000
Hwy Commissioner
PO Box 45308
Omaha, NE 68145-0308

District 3
John F. Kingsbury

Hwy Commissioner
PO Box 570
Ponca NE 68770

District 4
Grand Island
Donna Wanitschke

Hwy Commissioner
1611 Stagecoach Road
Grand Island NE 68801

District 5

Doug Leafgreen
Hwy Commissioner
1625 Aspen
Gering NE 69341

District 6
North Platte

Ronald W. Books
Hwy Commissioner
PO Box 1125
North Platte NE 69103

District 7

Greg A Wolford
Hwy Commissioner
PO Box 99
McCook, NE 69001

Shirley Schafer
Executive Secretary
1500 Hwy 2, Room 103
Lincoln, NE 68502

District 8

Jerome A. Fagerland

Hwy Commissioner
HC 69 - PO Box 758
O'Neill, NE 68763